Passive location based apps (sounds boring to me as well)

Back to the old school……….

I was approximately four years late in joining the Foursquare ‘revolution’ (did it/will it ever really catch on?) and looking at my list of four friends and zero check ins in the last week, it is safe to say that I am over it already.

The Present Day

Reading about SXSW 2012, it appears that the most talked about startups are all location based apps/networks, taking the Foursquare idea on to the next level, alerting you to who is nearby, what they are interested in and what content they are sharing. The apps in question are Sonar, Banjo and Highlight, with Highlight taking the top spot as the most talked about. Although I was four years late to Foursquare I can see an opportunity to only be a week or so behind the coolest/geekiest people in the world in adopting these ‘next big thing’ apps!! Exciting!

Doing some very basic research into which one I should try out, they all have their pro’s and con’s, so it looks like I will have to try them all!

The Future

Having done my very basic (lazy?) research it appears that my iphone battery life will be limited to about an hour, I will sacrifice all privacy and information from my social profiles and no one else I come across will actually be using these apps. But in the interest of having something to write about I will try them out and let you know how I get on.

PS does this mean I am an early adopter now? or just another wannabe?

Leave a Reply

